Upcoming Events

Collapse

There are no results that meet this criteria.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why do I get lag/crash in Neverwinter Nights 2?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why do I get lag/crash in Neverwinter Nights 2?

I'm sure everyone here has crashed on an area transition before, or experienced inexplicable lag.

Well our own Lallendos here is a network engineer, and GodBeastX is a programmer by profession. Over the past few days we have been working our hardest to solve why people crash when they transition, and why the server lags.

The server itself is almost crash-free, especially after the improvements in patch 1.06. But why do you crash on transition? Well the problem has to do with the way NWN2 handles its network code. NWN2 uses UDP and has an issue where if a packet is lost or out of order, it can sometimes drop the client entirely, or flood them with data. This is one of the contributing factors to why you just randomly crash while transitioning.

People may also experience lag spikes on the server, as you may know our new server is professional-grade and it's resources both in terms of memory, cpu and banwidth are barely tapped into by running Sundren and our Teamspeak server. Some of the lag issues are caused by problems in the game with pathfinding, and using the WASD keys to walk. Of course, there are other issues in the game as well that Obsidian is hard at work on to resolve these problems.

I have been informed by Rob McGinnis that many of these issues are intended to be addressed in patch 1.08, which will be released along with the new expansion, Mask of the Betrayer. Of course this doesn't mean it's the end-all solve-all patch for all problems, but the majority of the larger issues (some that I haven't mentioned above) should be fixed.